Back to news
  • Home /
  • news /

Bon Jovi, Genesis and Linkin Park legends to play

ST ANDREWS, September 20, 2017Mike Rutherford from Genesis, Dave Farrell of Linkin Park, Bon Jovi drummer Tico Torres and rocker Huey Lewis are the latest music stars to announce they will be playing in the Alfred Dunhill Links Championship at St Andrews next month.

They will be joining Ronan Keating, ex-Boyzone star and now a solo performer, Brian McFadden, former lead singer of Westlife and Tom Chaplin from Keane, who have already confirmed they will be playing.

Dave Farrell, who is playing for the second time, said: “Playing golf with spectators was a new experience, and the energy that comes from it is something I’m looking forward to this year. I’m a golf fan, so I enjoy any chance I get to see those guys Rory, Kaymer, Willett and McDowell hit shots.”

Other amateurs taking part include film actors Jamie Dornan, Matthew Goode, Greg Kinnear and Kelly Rohrbach, plus Peter Jones, the Dragon’s Den presenter.

Three sporting knights Sir Ian Botham, Sir Anthony (A.P) McCoy and Sir Steve Redgrave head an impressive line-up of sports stars, including rugby’s Fourie du Preez, Rob Louw, Paul O’Connell and Brian O’Driscoll, former world heavyweight champion Wladimir Klitschko, footballers Luis Figo and Jamie Redknapp, and cricketers Shane Warne, Kevin Pietersen, Mark Boucher, Jacques Kallis and Mark Nicholas.

The Alfred Dunhill Links Championship, which takes place from October 5-8 celebrates links golf at its finest and is played over the Old Course St Andrews, Carnoustie and Kingsbarns. With a prize fund of US$5 million, it incorporates two separate competitions – an individual tournament for the leading professionals and a team championship in which the pro’s are paired with amateur golfers. The Championship raises substantial funds for charity each year.

This year the professional field has a classic line-up of Major Championship winners: Darren Clarke, Ernie Els, Martin Kaymer, Paul Lawrie, Graeme McDowell, Rory McIlroy and Danny Willett. Also playing are former World No.1 Luke Donald, Ross Fisher, Matthew Fitzpatrick, World No.16 Tommy Fleetwood, Branden Grace, Chris Wood and Lee Westwood. Defending champion Tyrrell Hatton returns to St Andrews attempting to become the first to win back-to-back Alfred Dunhill Links titles. Ryder Cup captain Thomas Bjorn and vice-captain Robert Karlsson, who won the tournament in 2008, are also playing.

In June 2011 the Alfred Dunhill Links Foundation was established as the official Foundation of the Alfred Dunhill Links Championship. The Foundation is committed to developing young amateur golfers in Scotland and South Africa and also supports the University of St Andrews and the St Andrews Pilgrim Foundation, which refurbishes and preserves historical monuments in the town.